Pregnancy and Nausea

I am now in my 22nd week of pregnancy and I can’t believe I am actually getting to enjoy being pregnant now – something which seemed almost impossible just two months ago.  When I was in my 8th week, I had been so miserable because of the nausea that I had actually gone down to 98 lbs.  A weight I hadn’t been since high school!  I had refused to eat because everything tasted disgusting, even my own saliva was gross.  I didn’t want to watch television because I would see the commercials for food that would make me nauseous or disappointed because  I knew what that food was supposed to taste like – but it definitely didn’t taste like that when I ate it!  This is not to scare you if you have never been pregnant, but I sure wish someone had told me what it could be like – since everyone is different and experience pregnancy in different ways.

There were times when I would be in tears because I would see other pregnant women who seemed happy and were still doing life like normal.   One thing I found helpful when I felt a little hopeless was to get out there and spend some time with other women who have gone through tough pregnancies.  It really helped to know that I wasn’t alone and even though it wasn’t completely the same as my situation, it made me feel like I was normal and there wasn’t anything wrong with me.

Another important thing that I had to learn was to feed myself properly – because in the end I was harming my baby.  Some food that I was able to eat during the early months were toast with peanut butter, fruits such as bananas, apples and pineapples, and arrowroot cookies.  Other women recommended saltine crackers and ginger snaps.   I would devour anything with grilled chicken – and I know it might sound bad, but I think it’s quite healthy is Burger King’s Grilled Chicken sandwich.  Just ask them to go easy on the mayo!

If you are really having a lot of trouble – like I did, ask your doctor for a medicine to help with nausea.  My doctor prescribed Diclectin which is approved in Canada for the treatment of nausea and vomiting during pregnancy.  I had read through a lot of online forums about it before I took it and of course there were people who had concerns about it causing some harm to the baby – but at the end of the day – it helped me get back to my normal weight and eat healthier foods that are important for the baby and myself.  It made food taste normal again and helped me get my appetite back.

Again, everyone is different.  I think in general though, the most beneficial thing for me was to hear how other women dealt with their pregnancies.  So make sure that you have other women that you can talk to, get their advice or just listen to their experiences.  It might seem like 9 months is a long time… but as I’ve heard – it’s worth it.  Hang in there and take care of yourself so that you can take care of your growing baby.

Leave a Reply

