Real Beauty

One of our students sent me this video to check out and I thought about how it is so true that we are more beautiful than how we see ourselves.  Often we compare ourselves with what the world says is beautiful and we feel like we pale in comparison.  And a lot of the time it’s our demeanor that shows our beauty – our confidence in ourselves.  I know that I am not the most beautiful person in the world – but I find my confidence in the one who made me and who says he made me perfect just the way I am.  It says in Psalm 139:4 “… I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well…”  God doesn’t make mistakes!  He created you as a masterpiece.

I shamefully say that I don’t always feel this way every day – and definitely as I get older, I feel like my “glory days” are leaving me and I feel self-conscious.  Another good reminder I have found is Proverbs 31:30 where it says, “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the LORD is to be praised.”    I imagine two women maybe in their 50’s, 60’s, one can have all the facial surgery, air-brushed make-up, everything to make herself look younger – and the other woman with wrinkles and age marks, thinning hair, but with peace and joy and a certain calming spirit.  There is no comparison to which I would rather be.

It’s not always about looks – although I think that it’s important to present ourselves in a way that makes us feel comfortable, appropriate and confident.  But I think those things come with knowing whose opinion you care about and who you are trying to please.  I am never going to please everyone – but if I can please God, I am beautiful to who it matters.

Leave a Reply

