The First Ornament I Hung on My Christmas Tree

 

Screen Shot 2016-08-07 at 11.49.05 PM

I wasn’t able to go to the potluck brunch that our women’s ministry throws every end of the first semester of bible study season… so I was delightfully surprised when Matt came home with a bag of goodies for me from the ladies group.  In it were candy canes, gift certificates to use for services and this – a giant nail with a red yarn.  It was a great reminder for me – and definitely put things into perspective.  Here’s what it says in the note that came with it:

“It’s Christmas time at our house and we’re putting up the tree.  I wish I could find some simple way to remember Christ’s gift to me.  Some little symbol to show friends stopping by, the little babe was born one day but he really came to die.  Some symbol of his nail pierced hands, the blood He shed for you and me.  What if I hung a simple nail on my shining Christmas tree?  A crimson bow tied round the nail as His blood flowed down so free, to save each person from their sin and redeem us for eternity.  I know it was His love for us that held Him to the tree, but when I see this simple nail I know he died for me.”

Wishing you a season of joy and peace, no matter what situation you might be in… know and have confidence that because of what Jesus has done for you on the cross, you have already won and are victorious.  Seek him, turn to him and he will give you that rest, peace and love that you need.

Leave a Reply

